I Hate the “G-word”

Where do you draw your value?

There is an overused word on the internet. I’ll write it once: guru.

I had no idea of this word was used so much until I started searching for answers to my questions. when searching for things like: “How to start a business,” “how to make money online,” “how to tell a story,” or “how to get your dog to stop bringing you the frisbee when you’re trying to work, but then she gives you those huge, brown puppy dog eyes and I can’t say no, so now, after two hours of non-stop throwing, I think I need Tommy John’s Surgery, and we need a new rug.” Rankings change all the time, but within twenty minutes of trying to find something related to business, leadership, entrepreneurship, or others, you’ll be inundated with dozens of people calling themselves the G-word.

I was disheartened after investigating some of these G-words. A simple search for their name and the third most searched terms was: ” <their name> scam.” For others, the only thing they had accomplished was to build the business that was being marketed around a keyword search. That’s it. Most were either a scam or their only business was a business of teaching people how to build a business by using their business building business model.

To quote one of my all time favorite fictional characters, Tywin Lannister from A Storm of Swords, written by George R.R. Martin:

“And any man who must say ‘I am king’ is no true king at all.”

Well said, George. If you have to say that you’re a real state G-word, startup G-word, tech G-word, fitness G-word, or any other G-word, and that’s your claim to fame, then you’re no authority. I’m all about taking action and initiative. The editor in me would write, “Show, don’t tell” on your stylesheet were I editing your autobiography.

I look at someone like Gary Vaynerchuk (@garyvee) who is sometimes called a social media marketing G-word, but he has a vast social media marketing business that he built and before that built up his father’s wine business to go along with it. I would call this man a G-word, not only because he has the knowledge and skills, but also the accomplishments and experience that goes along with it.

Let your actions speak louder than your words. Don’t wrap yourself up in a title or a single noun. Don’t just be a G-word, be an approachable resource with accomplishments that people can learn from and connect to.

My goal is to be an authorpreneur and Rae Publishing is the platform that I’ll show you that I deserve your time.

Do the work.

The question of the day: Do you tell instead of show?

Please leave a comment below, like, share, and follow the blog.

Also, today is the beginning of “Friday Fiction Breakdown” where I take popular books and movies and break down a storytelling element that I liked in the production. Writers, come back a noon ET today.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

