Embrace Where You Came From

Today is my father’s birthday and yesterday was my aunt’s. I’m at my parent’s house spending time with everyone. It’s great to see people that I haven’t seen since Thanksgiving. Being back in the valley is always awesome -the featured image is from my parent’s back door.

Family is very important to me.

Family is very important to me. Now that I’ve grown up and moved away from the place I called home for most of my life, I’m placing a higher value of family and history.

From an early age, my father had me outside helping him in the garden, working on the house or cars, and raising animals from dogs to livestock. This exposure, at such a young age, not only taught me technical skills such as how to lay out a set of steps or wire an electric box, but they also taught me the value of hard work and initiative. If my dad didn’t know how to do something, he either brought in someone who did or he learned how to do it himself.

My mom homeschooled us kids and encouraged us to pursue anything we wanted. She would read to us, while I worked on sketches and short stories. Here, my love for books and art was fostered, as well as being a grammar Nazi.

Unfortunately, over 50% of marriages don’t last and a huge number of people come from a bad or broken home life. My heart breaks for you. However, the first half of this post is not to brag about how great my childhood was.

Understand this, you can either let your past define you or it can deploy you. Embrace where you came from and play your experiences to your advantage.

Maya Angelou said it best,

“You are the sum total of everything you’ve ever seen, heard, eaten, smelled, been told, forgot -it’s all there. Everything influences each of us, and because of that I try to make sure that my experiences are positive.”

Your history is just history. You can’t go back and change it; however, it can reach from the past to change you, if you let it.

Me, I embrace my history, the good and the bad, to let it build me up into the man I’ve become. I take my father’s work ethic and combine it with my mother’s curiosity to mold me into someone who’s starting a company and writing original content every day. Whether I’m working with a shovel or a keyboard, work is work.

I could let my past of being homeschooled or being a C-average student get in my way of success, but I don’t. Those experiences made me who I am and I’m proud of where I’m from.

What about you? Do you let your skin color, or the relationship with your parents, or the fact you don’t have a degree from an Ivy League business school get in your way of success?

The only thing holding you back is you.

Embrace where you came from and let it be the springboard from which you jump into future success. The only thing holding you back is you.

Thanks for reading today’s Daily Download. Please like, share, and subscribe.

Question: How do you turn your past weaknesses into strengths?

You can leave a comment down below. I would love to hear from you.

Until tomorrow.

Cite Angelou quote: http://www.azquotes.com/quote/8604

Leave a Reply

