The Power of Permission

Before You Can Start Your Book or Business, You Need to Give Yourself Permission

I’ve written this article hundreds of times in my head. It started out as being a Wednesday Writer’s Workshop idea about how to start writing a book. I then realized this applies to entrepreneurs, wantrepreneurs, and business people just as much as authors. Before you can start your book or business, you need to give yourself permission.

It may sound elementary or obtuse, but it’s true. I thought to myself, I don’t need to give myself permission; I already have it. In fact, I didn’t have it. I did on paper, but not in my mind. There was something always holding me back. I wanted to write that book or start a business or go to a conference, but something always got in the way. I would make excuses. I was too tired to write, too busy to start the business, the conference was on a weeknight, etc. I thought these were valid reasons to keep from doing what I knew I should be doing.

Permission Helped Me Banish Self-doubt and Bring Self-awareness.

Then it dawned on me. I had not given myself the permission to execute my dreams. Once I gave myself permission to write a book, start a business, go to conferences, I saw my excuses for what they really were, doubt in myself. Being too tired to write a book turned into the real culprit of thinking I was not good enough to write the book. Being too busy to start a business revealed itself to be that I knew nothing about business. That conference on the weeknight turned into I have nothing to say to strangers at the networking hour. Permission helped me banish self-doubt and bring self-awareness.

_______________________________________

More from Daily Download

Knowing Your 80/20
Reaching for a Galaxy, Far, Far Away
Embrace Where You Came From
______________________________________

Free Yourself

Giving yourself permission also includes the permission to fail. It’s the permission to try new things. You will have the ability to free yourself from anything that stands in your way.

I can attest to the power of permission. When I gave myself the permission to write a book, no matter if I sold one copy to my mom or made it on the New York Times, I wrote 72,000 words in six weeks. This blog is the product of giving myself the permission to start a business. I went to my first business conference last week at Unpolished and networked with some great people. Now, I can’t wait to see what the future holds for my writing, Rae Publishing or networking; and it all started with permission.

What about you? You may have it from your family to leave your job and do your own thing. Or, you may have your employees’ permissions to lead the company in a new direction. Have you given yourself permission to execute the tasks you know you should be doing? Tell yourself, outloud, that you are allowed to follow your dreams and if you fail, you will learn from your mistakes and get back up again.

Thank you for reading this installment of Daily Download. Please like, share on Twitter, Facebook, or Google+ if you liked it. You can follow me, Ryan A. Ross, on Twitter @ryanthebossross. Don’t forget to check out the Archives, there’s a lot of great stuff including Wednesday Writer’s Workshop and Friday Fiction Breakdown.

If you have a topic you would like to see appear on the Daily Download, please email me.

The question of the day: What’s holding you back from following your dreams? Please comment below.

Until tomorrow.

Featured Image Credit: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=0ahUKEwj7vPWbocnSAhVLQyYKHftlAJQQjxwIAw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.creativevisionsrising.com%2Fgiving-yourself-artistic-permission%2F&bvm=bv.149093890,d.eWE&psig=AFQjCNHBKhPyZjxzgR2oDnPnULJqa5W3eg&ust=1489143279183127

Leave a Reply

