The Editor Needs an Editor

Help! I’ve Fallen and I Can’t Get Up!

I work in Information Technology by day; I’m a writer and editor by night. During the day, I am always thinking about what I’m going to write that night, the next day, next week, month, year, and ten years down the road (yes, I think that far ahead because I’m a plotter). I write these Daily Downloads that get published everyday, two weekly columns in Wednesday Writer’s Workshop and Friday Fiction Breakdown. That’s just for Rae Publishing. I’m also in the process of pitching several other blogs to do weekly guest columns. All of this writing while working on a sci-fi series. I write 10,000 words a week in blog articles and more words in fiction. I have a problem; I can’t edit any of it.

I’m a great editor when it comes to editing other people’s work. Since the early days of college I edited friends’ class papers, a fraternity brother’s application letter for pharmacy school (he got in), and my wife’s graduate school papers. Currently, I’m on the hunt for clients to edit their books before they self publish or submit to another publisher. With all this editing and writing skill set, I still cannot edit my own work. My brain tricks me into seeing what I want to see and not what’s actually there. I know how the sentence is supposed to sound and that’s exactly what I see when I read it.  When someone else reads it, they see it for what it really is: quick and sporadic garble that I vomited onto a page as nonsense spilled from my brain, down to my fingertips, and onto a keyboard. I’m the editor who needs an editor.

Someone Needed to Step In and Edit My Work

Thankfully, I have an awesome spouse and family who are also solid editors with a strong grasp of language. They pick up on what I miss and read everything that goes out before I publish it. At first, this was a bitter pill for me to swallow. Then I realized how hypocritical I was being. In order to put out great content that brings value to the readers and potential customers, I can’t let silly mistakes fall through the cracks. Someone needed to step in to edit my work.

__________________________________________

More from Daily Download

When to Try Something Different

Strategy vs Tactics

Knowing Your Motivations

_________________________________________

You may be the best salesperson in your whole company. When others shudder in their shoes, you boldly pick up the phone and cold dial a hundred people before lunch and make three new sales you would not have had otherwise. We get it; you’re awesome. Still, there’s something that everyone of us lacks. You may be the best at sales and bringing in revenue, but how are you on your team building skills? Do you focus on the branding and market position or what about the long term strategy?

The Buck Stops Here!

It may be time to ask for help. You are the one responsible for your business, team, products or services, brand, and let’s not forget your customers. President Harry S. Truman had a popular plaque on his desk in the Oval Office that said, “The buck stops here!” according to the Harry S. Truman Library & Museum. It meant the president was responsible for it all. The successes and failures of his administration, and the country, stopped at President Truman. The buck stops with you, entrepreneur. Are you so focused on sales that you let the culture of the workplace deteriorate?

Maybe it’s time to ask for help. Give yourself an audit and try to see the areas in which you are lacking. Maybe you are like me when it comes to editing my own work, and you cannot see the areas that are flawed. Then you can ask your employees for constructive feedback on your performance and see what you can do better. Who knows? Maybe being open to the workplace conditions could boost morale and productivity; therefore, sales would increase as well. Make sure to know your own strengths and weaknesses. If you cannot do something to the best of your ability then ask for help.

 

Thank you for reading this installment of Daily Download. Please like, share on Twitter, Facebook, or Google+. You can follow me, Ryan A. Ross, on Twitter @ryanthebossross. Don’t forget to check out the Archives. There’s a lot of great stuff including Writer’s Workshop and Friday Fiction Breakdown.

If you have a topic you would like to see appear on the Daily Download, please email me.

The question of the day: Have you ever worked with someone who never asked for help and messed something up? Please comment below or tweet me.

Finally, if your or someone you know is writing a book or about to start one, please have them check out the Editing Services offered at Rae Publishing.

Until tomorrow.

Featured Image Credit: https://pixabay.com/en/creative-writing-editing-library-108545/

Leave a Reply

